- Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary - red audio icons next to an entry word can be clicked to hear the word pronounced by a real voice.
- Visuwords - Look up words to find their meanings and associations with other words and concepts. Produce diagrams reminiscent of a neural net. Learn how words associate.
- Wiktionary - a sister to Wikipedia
Reference Books - The first place to begin your research
|Excellent source for basic information|
Subject Guide to Online Reference Sources
Don't find what you want below? Try Virtual Reference Shelf from the Library of Congress.
- Arts & Humanities (see also: English & Literature and History)
- Business (see also: Economic Statistical Sources)
- Encyclopedias & Almanacs
- English & Literature
- Government & Law
- Health, Medicine & Nursing
- Maps and Atlases
- Readers Advisory
- Statistical Sources
- Information Please Almanac
- My Virtual Encyclopedia
- Reference.com encyclopedia
- Smithsonian Institution Libraries - digital library
- World Encyclopedia
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - hundreds of online encyclopedias
- Medical Encyclopedia Index- medically reviewed health content for consumers
There are plenty of ways to get help when you're stuck!
Online Reference Sources
- AEGIS - AIDS Education Global Information System
- Centers for Disease Control
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body (not the tv show, but the famous atlas of the body)
- Healthfinder - A government site containing links to health care information from government agencies.
- Human Anatomy Online
- Interactive Health Tutorials
- Internet Stroke Center
- Khan Academy - short, educational videos specially designed for students
- McGill University Virtual Stethoscope (RealPlayer needed)
- MedlinePlus - For consumer health information.
- National Foundation for Infectious Diseases
- National Institutes of Health
- National Library of Medicine - includes PubMed
- NursingCenter.com - offers search services, continuing education articles, career center, e-mail, a personal file drawer and forums for nurses. Also contains the full text of 10 journals and tables of contents for more than 20 other publications.
- WebMD Health