Skip to main content
site header image

Library Basics

Finding Articles and Videos

As a BRCC student, you have access to millions of journals and articles.
Your instructors likely want you to use scholarly, peer-reviewed sources as evidence for your assignments. 

First, we need to choose a database. I'm going to look at Academic Search Complete by clicking Articles/Databases on the library homepage.
This is a great general database with information about a lot of different topics.

  • You can see that our search results for articles on technology in the classroom had nearly 6,000 results.
  • Next, we will use limiters to narrow our search results to a more manageable number.

  • On the left hand side of your search, look for the "Limit To" sidebar to narrow results.
  • You should filter by full text only, peer-reviewed, and also by date. 
  • If you still need to narrow your search, try searching for a similar keyword or subject.

  • To access the full text article click on the PDF Full Text tab on the left hand side of the screen.
  • You may also want to save the article by printing, emailing it, or saving it to your Google Drive. 
  • The citation tab is a great place to start for your works cited page. However, be sure to check the citation that is generated for the article against the citation manual, as they are not always 100% accurate. 

  • To access our video collection, go to the library homepage and click Films/Media.
  • Our recommended video database is called Films on Demand and is a great resource
    with
    thousands of high quality videos.
Loading ...