Our mission is to collect, organize, preserve, and make available records of historical value about Blue Ridge Community College from its inception to the present.
The purpose of the College Archive is to maintain both current and future records and materials related directly to the college. Guidelines in the Blue Ridge Community College Archive Collection Development Policy determine what records are of enduring value and are worthy of permanent retention. Current archival holdings range in format and media and include, but are not limited to, print and non-print, electronic, photographic, and physical artifacts.
This collection development policy for the College Archive is based on guidelines from the Society of American Archivists’ Guidelines for College and University Archive.
Guidelines for Use & Research
The College Archive may be accessed by appointment only. Archival materials do not circulate and must be used in the Archives area, G172, while accompanied by someone from the BRCC staff.
The College Archive includes records and artifacts, regardless of formats, which document the history and development of the College from its earliest planning and inception to the present. These materials may include official and nonofficial papers, publications, records, artifacts, and other materials of college offices, records of administrators, faculty, staff, students, alumni, and other organizations affiliated with Blue Ridge Community College. The Archive may also include institutional records that the College is required to maintain.
The Blue Ridge Community College Archive collects materials based on the following criteria:
Items that do not clearly fall within the criteria of the College Archive Collection Development Policy will be considered after review by the library staff and administrators.
Anyone interested in donating to the College Archive collection should read and complete a donation form that can be obtained from the Head Librrarian. This document formally establishes the transfer of ownership of archival materials to BRCC. The Head Librarian or their designee will submit the completed form to the Director of Development for approval. Following notification of approval by the Director of Development, the Head Librarian or their designee will coordinate with the donor to establish physical transfer of archival materials. The Director of Development will send an acknowledgment of the gift to the donor.
The Head Librarian and the library staff are responsible for managing the collection. Decisions on what items to add to the College Archive are based on the purposes of the archive's scope, criteria, the information needs and recommendations of users, and the continued development of the existing collection. Materials may be acquired through transfer from individuals, campus offices, systematic collection of relevant items, gifts or donations, and other materials as routed. The Head Librarian or their designee will manage the addition of materials into the Archive and update the Archive Index spreadsheet. The Head Librarian or their designee will coordinate general management of the Archive.
The Blue Ridge Community College Archive is located in room G172 in the Houff Student Center.
Access to the Archive is currently by appointment only.
Please contact the library to make an appointment.
library@brcc.edu
(540) 453-2247
Use this link to access the college archive index. Navigate using the tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet or search using the Find (Control + F) function.
Contact the library if you have questions or need assistance.