LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice Databases

Helpful Definitions

A library database is a digital collection of resources that is used to search for scholarly information. This can include ebooks, audiobooks, scholarly/academic journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, encyclopedias, and streaming access to full-length features movies as well as educational material. Click here for direct access to our A-Z Database list.

If you are accessing library databases off-campus, you will need to login using your myBRCC username and password. We have a guide to assist with that process.

An academic journal is a scholarly publication containing articles that is published regularly.

Scholarly articles are published in academic journals. Often they have been peer-reviewed, which means they have been analyzed by experts.

Filters, or limiters, are database tools that allow users to refine their search results to better meet their research goals. Most databases have filters for: full-text, peer reviewed sources, publication date, source type, subject terms, language, and many more.

An abstract is the summary of a research article, usually describing the main points of the paper. Many databases will provide an abstract or summary either below the article link, or as the first paragraph within the paper itself. We recommend reading the abstract first to see if a paper discusses your research topic, before diving into the full text.

Peer-Review is a process by which a scholarly work (such as an article) is checked by a group of experts in the same field or subject area to make sure that it meets the necessary standards before it is published. Check with your professor or syllabus to know if your assignment requires peer-reviewed articles. You can filter your databases searches to only include peer reviewed documents.
peer review image

The Full Text limiter means you can access the entire text of an article or an eBook online through our databases or catalog. You can also limit your database search to full text articles only.
full text filter image

Use the Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to connect your search words in order to narrow or broaden a search online.

AND will narrow your search results. For example, performing a search for "Shakespeare" AND "Tempest" will generate results that have both Shakespeare and Tempest in them.
OR will broaden your results. For example, performing a search for "Shakespeare" OR "Tempest" will generate results that have either Shakespeare or Tempest in them.
NOT will narrow your search results. For example, performing a search for "Shakespeare" NOT "Tempest" will generate results for Shakespeare that do not that have Tempest in them.