Statista

The following is an overview of the database search process. For a fuller description, with images of the searching process, click through the tabs above.

Accessing Statista: To find articles using our library databases, go to the library homepage, and use the link for "Articles/Databases." Click on the S in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to Statista, and click the link to open the database.
Performing a Search: You can start searching by adding a keyword or concept to the search bar. There are a variety of filters that you can use to modify your results.
Main Menu Options: You can also use the main menu to browse through industry statistics/reports and consumer/market insights.
Research AI: Statista now includes Research AI, which functions similar to other AI tools, but uses Statista's own data to answer questions.
Your Results: Your results will include options for downloading the data in multiple formats, as well as information on the source of the data.
Citing Your Work: The database can provide a machine generated citation, but oftentimes these contain errors in content and formatting. Please check those citations against our Writing & Citing Guide.

As a BRCC student, you have online access to millions of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles through the library databases. Some databases provide access to films and ebooks as well.

To begin, go to the full A-Z list of our library databases by clicking Articles/Databases on the library homepage.

database link

Click on the S in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to Statista, and click the link to open the database.

There are several ways to interact with Statista. If you know what subject area, industry, company, or specific statistics you are looking for, you can interact directly with the search box.

You can search for a specific topic or concept, and then use the database's built-in filters to refine your results list. The drop-down menu provides various filter options. You are able to narrow by content type (i.e. stats, infographic, consumer reports, etc.), location of study, industry category, and publication date of the data. You can also use the tag filter menu to further specify your topic.

The main menu has several browsing options focusing in on specific aspects of commerce and market reporting.

Browse through Statistics by industry, or click on "All-Industries" to see a breakdown of industries into the following subcategories:

Advertising & marketing, agriculture, chemicals & resources, construction, consumer goods & FMCG, e-commerce, economy & Politics, energy & environment, finance & insurance, health, pharma & medtech, internet, life, media, metals & electronics, real estate, retail & trade, services, society, sports & recreation, technology & telecommunications, transportation & logistics, travel, tourism & hospitality.

Use the Reports tab to view data on the following sectors:

Digital & trend reports: High-quality in-depth information on important and trending topics, such as 5G, digitalization, or artificial intelligence (AI). From cyber security, cloud computing, and robotics to e-commerce and virtual reality (VR), all significant trends are covered.
Industries & Markets: Comprehensive data on markets and industries, including market overviews, revenues, number of employees, as well as the latest information about the state of the industries, trends, and forecasts.
Companies & Products: Information on top companies and products in all major industries and regions with detailed company overviews and rankings, including revenue, number of employees, company value, stock price, and major competitors.
Consumers & Brands: Overview of what consumer are thinking, featuring survey data on usage, behavior and attitudes, opinions and preferences. Get to know the customers in different countries and industries.
Politics & Society: Detailed information about political and social topics of countries and regions, e.g. the economic situation, elections, demographics, religious affiliations, education, and health.
Countries & Regions: Crucial information regarding the status quo and development of countries and regions including key economic indicators like GDP, national finance, demographics and trade figures as well as major industry players.

Use the Insights tab to check out reports on market forecasting, consumer attitudes, business information for both private and public companies, and ecommerce marketplaces.

Statista now offers an AI research assistant that allows for intuitive searching using natural language prompts. You will be brought to a landing page that offers interactive tips on writing a successful research prompt. To dive into actually using the new AI system, you will need to click "Go to Research AI."

You will be brought to another screen that offers some tips for writing a search query. To actual begin your research, click on the "+ New Query" button in the top righthand corner.

Please be aware! AI can make mistakes. It is best to check your AI generated results against verified sources. One of the great things about Statista is that it directly provides citations to the information that forms the basis of the AI generated text.

For AI-based research, you will want to save several pieces of information. Click the share button in the top right-hand corner to access an easy-to-copy version of the result. It is a good idea to keep track of your prompt, the date you created the query, and prompt results in case you need to provide that information to your professor. This information is also vital to citing the result. If you need to edit your prompt to provide more specifics, click on the pencil icon. It is located beside the share button, or within the dark blue prompt box.

One great thing about Statista's AI tool is that it provides direct links (circled in blue) to the articles that were used to generate the AI content. Clicking on those links will open the cited article.

Clicking on the links provided will open the article directly in the same window. Please note: Save your search results before clicking on any of these links. There is an option for going "Back to Research AI" but it appears to not work effectively, oftentimes deleting the query results. You can still click through the cited articles by using the arrows at the right.

Statista Research AI also includes query recommendations at the bottom of the page, that can further your research with the click of a button. Make sure to check through these resources for content related to your original search.

Your results will include options for downloading in multiple formats, as well as information on the source of the data. If you need further clarification on the topic, check the text below the graphic for a review of the concept.

To cite this material, click the "Citation formats -- view options" button. Choose your citation style with the dropdown menu. Please remember that this is a machine generated citation, so you should check it against our Citation Guide.

ITE - Information Technology and Computer Essentials: Statista

Statista

The following is an overview of the database search process. For a fuller description, with images of the searching process, click through the tabs above.

As a BRCC student, you have online access to millions of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles through the library databases. Some databases provide access to films and ebooks as well.

To begin, go to the full A-Z list of our library databases by clicking Articles/Databases on the library homepage.

Click on the S in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to Statista, and click the link to open the database.

There are several ways to interact with Statista. If you know what subject area, industry, company, or specific statistics you are looking for, you can interact directly with the search box.

The main menu has several browsing options focusing in on specific aspects of commerce and market reporting.

Browse through Statistics by industry, or click on "All-Industries" to see a breakdown of industries into the following subcategories:

Use the Reports tab to view data on the following sectors:

Digital & trend reports: High-quality in-depth information on important and trending topics, such as 5G, digitalization, or artificial intelligence (AI). From cyber security, cloud computing, and robotics to e-commerce and virtual reality (VR), all significant trends are covered.

Industries & Markets: Comprehensive data on markets and industries, including market overviews, revenues, number of employees, as well as the latest information about the state of the industries, trends, and forecasts.

Companies & Products: Information on top companies and products in all major industries and regions with detailed company overviews and rankings, including revenue, number of employees, company value, stock price, and major competitors.

Consumers & Brands: Overview of what consumer are thinking, featuring survey data on usage, behavior and attitudes, opinions and preferences. Get to know the customers in different countries and industries.

Politics & Society: Detailed information about political and social topics of countries and regions, e.g. the economic situation, elections, demographics, religious affiliations, education, and health.

Countries & Regions: Crucial information regarding the status quo and development of countries and regions including key economic indicators like GDP, national finance, demographics and trade figures as well as major industry players.

Use the Insights tab to check out reports on market forecasting, consumer attitudes, business information for both private and public companies, and ecommerce marketplaces.

You will be brought to another screen that offers some tips for writing a search query. To actual begin your research, click on the "+ New Query" button in the top righthand corner.

Please be aware! AI can make mistakes. It is best to check your AI generated results against verified sources. One of the great things about Statista is that it directly provides citations to the information that forms the basis of the AI generated text.

One great thing about Statista's AI tool is that it provides direct links (circled in blue) to the articles that were used to generate the AI content. Clicking on those links will open the cited article.

Statista Research AI also includes query recommendations at the bottom of the page, that can further your research with the click of a button. Make sure to check through these resources for content related to your original search.

Your results will include options for downloading in multiple formats, as well as information on the source of the data. If you need further clarification on the topic, check the text below the graphic for a review of the concept.

To cite this material, click the "Citation formats -- view options" button. Choose your citation style with the dropdown menu. Please remember that this is a machine generated citation, so you should check it against our Citation Guide.