SDV Guide: Houff Library

There are several ways to receive help from the library.

You can visit us in person for assistance in A110, reach out via email, call us at (540) 453-2247 or set up a one-on-one appointment via Navigate (for instructions, check out this video).

For assistance after hours or on weekends, check out the 24/7 chat service. For more information on contacting the library, and the resources and services we provide, see this Research Guide. For students in the SDV class, we have a guide specifically for introducing you to Houff resources.

In terms of useful resources the library provides, we have a plethora of materials that you can find/use on and off campus:

• print books and magazines
• free printing (black/white and color)
• Interlibrary loan
• various technologies for checkout: calculators, phone chargers for iPhones and Android devices, laptops, MacBook chargers
• full-text ebooks and audiobooks through our online catalog
• online database access to scholarly journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and more
• online research guides
• research assistance
• writing and citing assistance

Why is it important to make use of library resources, instead of relying solely on the general internet? There are many advantages to using library print and digital resources over those that you find on Google or Google Scholar.

• Library resources will always be free to you. While you can find a ton of free resources on Google, there are many that may ask you to create an account to access, or make you to pay to see the entirety of a resource. General Google results are often inundated with advertisements, which while harmless, can often be distracting or overbearing. You will not have to create an extra account to access library resources while you are a student at BRCC, and you will never have to deal with advertisements in library resources. 
• Many professors will require peer-reviewed journal articles, and there is no easy way to limit your results in Google or Google Scholar to guarantee that you are seeing academic, peer-reviewed materials. Google can provide you with millions of results, but you will have to spend a lot of time verifying that those resources can be trusted as good, bias-free research. Library databases make the research process a lot easier for you.
• Library databases include built-in filters that allow you to effectively adjust your results to match the needs of your assignment. Want to make sure that you are only seeing full-text, peer-reviewed academic journal articles? There are filters for that. Need an article written within the past five years on a specific subject area? There are filters for that.
• Tired of algorithms? Library database results are based on relevancy to your search terms and active filters rather than a complex algorithm involving your personal internet search history and what is popular at the moment. This relative search neutrality allows you to see results from multiple perspectives and build your research from the ground up. Academic research usually requires you to understand the full spectrum of a concept, rather than building a thesis on a biased perspective or information set. 

There are several success resources available to you. For a full list check out the BRCC Student Life & Services page: https://www.brcc.edu/student/

• Looking for homework help? Contact the Tutoring Center at BRCC to schedule an appointment or for in-person or online tutoring. Now located in the Houff Library!
• Looking for help to achieve your educational or career goals? The Student Success Center assists students by providing tools and resources to support students and help overcome barriers to success.
• Need accommodations or assistive technologies? The mission of Blue Ridge Community College's Office of Student Accessibility is to provide reasonable accommodations and support for students with disabilities

There are several ways to contact librarians for assistance:

Visit us in A110

Email at: library@brcc.edu

Call Us: (540) 453-2247

Text Us: 1-540-592-4324 (Available Mon.-Fri.: 8am-4:45pm)

Use the Library Directory to connect with a specific librarian 

Need help scheduling an EAB appointment? Check out this video

Use EAB Navigate to schedule a 30 minute, one-on-one meeting

Need help with something after-hours? Visit the Ask a Librarian page! Options include a live chat with 24/7 access to a librarian who can help you. 

Houff Library Hours:
Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. 

Always check the Library Homepage for current hours and information on any holiday closings. 

The online library is always open! Ebooks, online articles, digital media, and course research guides are available at brcc.edu/library. If you are off-campus, you will need to sign in using your myBRCC login credentials. You can find more information about off-campus access on our website. 

Contact us at ​(540) 453-2247 or library@brcc.edu or stop by A110.

Need help? Ask a librarian! Options include a live chat 24/7.

Follow us on social media!

For more assistance with logging into your myBRCC account contact the technology help desk:
You can submit a ticket in our IT Support Portal, which can be found in MyBRCC as “Submit a Technology Request” Or, check out this article with common questions asked by students.

Technology Help Desk
(540) 453-2400
Room E109

M-F: 8am - 5pm