LibGuides: English 111: Find Articles

Helpful Definitions

A library database is a digital collection of resources that is used to search for scholarly information. This can include ebooks, audiobooks, scholarly/academic journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, encyclopedias, and streaming access to full-length features movies as well as educational material. Click here for direct access to our A-Z Database list.

If you are accessing library databases off-campus, you will need to login using your myBRCC username and password. We have a guide to assist with that process.

An academic journal is a scholarly publication containing articles that is published regularly.

Scholarly articles are published in academic journals. Often they have been peer-reviewed, which means they have been analyzed by experts.

Filters, or limiters, are database tools that allow users to refine their search results to better meet their research goals. Most databases have filters for: full-text, peer reviewed sources, publication date, source type, subject terms, language, and many more.

An abstract is the summary of a research article, usually describing the main points of the paper. Many databases will provide an abstract or summary either below the article link, or as the first paragraph within the paper itself. We recommend reading the abstract first to see if a paper discusses your research topic, before diving into the full text.

Peer-Review is a process by which a scholarly work (such as an article) is checked by a group of experts in the same field or subject area to make sure that it meets the necessary standards before it is published. Check with your professor or syllabus to know if your assignment requires peer-reviewed articles. You can filter your databases searches to only include peer reviewed documents.
peer review image

The Full Text limiter means you can access the entire text of an article or an eBook online through our databases or catalog. You can also limit your database search to full text articles only.
full text filter image

Use the Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to connect your search words in order to narrow or broaden a search online.

AND will narrow your search results. For example, performing a search for "Shakespeare" AND "Tempest" will generate results that have both Shakespeare and Tempest in them.
OR will broaden your results. For example, performing a search for "Shakespeare" OR "Tempest" will generate results that have either Shakespeare or Tempest in them.
NOT will narrow your search results. For example, performing a search for "Shakespeare" NOT "Tempest" will generate results for Shakespeare that do not that have Tempest in them.

Recommended Databases

These are the databases that we recommend using to do research on your argumentative research essay. Double check with your professor on whether they want you to use peer-reviewed articles, or if there is a publication date range your references need to fall within.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: This link opens in a new window
Covers today’s social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
- When conducting research using Gale Opposing Viewpoints, you will want to use the "Academic Journals" section, or make sure your you have the "Peer Reviewed Journals" option checked.
- For assistance using Opposing Viewpoints check out this step-by-step guide.
Academic Search Complete: This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also includes articles from magazines and newspapers, reports, and more.
- For assistance using Academic Search Complete check out this step-by-step guide.
- Interested in an easy way to keep track of your research as you go? Set up a free EBSCO database account! Check out this page for more info on that process.

Off-Campus Access

Even from off-campus, BRCC students, faculty, and staff have access to library resources and support

Ability to ask a librarian for research help via phone, email and chat.
Free online access to ebooks, articles, films and more through our online library databases.
Online guides to help with using the library, doing research, and writing & citing.

How do I access library databases to find resources while off-campus?

Go to the list of library databases found on the Houff Library hompage and select one by clicking the name of the database.
After you click the database that you want to use, you will be prompted to log in.
Enter your myBRCC username and password.
If you are unable to login or are having problems accessing a database, please contact myBRCC support

Logging into myBRCC requires multi-factor authentication.
Set up instructions are available here: https://myvccs-support.vccs.edu/multi-factor-authentication

Library Databases for Controversial & Current Issues

Need Help?

There are several ways to contact librarians for assistance:

Visit us in G236/2nd Floor Houff Student Center

Email at: library@brcc.edu

Call Us: (540) 453-2247

Text Us: 1-540-592-4324 (Available Mon.-Fri. 8am-5pm)

Use the Library Directory to connect with a specific librarian

Use EAB Navigate to schedule a 30 minute, one-on-one meeting with one of our librarians

Need help with something after-hours? Visit the Ask a Librarian page! Options include a live chat with 24/7 access to a librarian who can help you.

English 111: Find Articles