The Houff Center (G Building) library space and physical collections are completely inaccessible during the Fall semester due to HVAC renovations.
Library offices are located in room 110 of A Building on the main Weyers Cave campus.
Tutoring is located down the hall in room A107
Please contact the library (library@brcc.edu or 540-453-2247) with any questions. Need help now? Check out the Ask a Librarian feature for 24/7 chat access.
Houff Library Resources & Services:
All BRCC students have access to library services and resources through Houff Library. The library is located in room 110 in the A Building. Many things are available online anytime through the library website: https://www.brcc.edu/library
This includes access to over 140 online library databases.
Not sure where to begin? Start with the Library Basics Tutorial or a research guide.
Need help citing sources? Use the Writing & Citing guide.
To get help using these resources and doing research, stop by the library, schedule an appointment with a librarian using Navigate in myBRCC or contact the library at library@brcc.edu or call 540-453-2247. You can also read library FAQS and get help anytime through the Ask a Librarian Live 24/7 Chat service.
Please don’t hesitate to contact the librarians with questions or requests. They are happy to help you!
Visit us in A110
Email at: library@brcc.edu
Call Us: (540) 453-2247
Text Us: 1-540-592-4324 (Available Mon.-Fri.: 8am-4:45pm)
Use the Library Directory to connect with a specific librarian
Need help scheduling an EAB appointment? Check out this video
Use EAB Navigate to schedule a 30 minute, one-on-one meeting
Effective 9/17/25, physical book requests will be temporarily unavailable due to HVAC renovations. Requests for electronic articles and book chapters will continue to be accepted. Please submit this form if you would like to request electronic articles or book chapters that are not available at our library.
Electronic article and book chapters usually take 1-3 days to fulfill.
If you need eBooks, you can access thousands of full-text academic eBooks at ProQuest eBook Central and search for other eBooks in the library catalog.
Please contact us if you have questions or need assistance: Ask a Librarian
Is there a resource that you think will be a great addition to our collection, or would help support your course? Submit a recommendation through this form.
Research Guides (sometimes called LibGuides) are a way to share library and research information and provide a starting point for students doing research for assignments.
Many guides recommend resources for finding information such as books, ebooks, databases, or relevant websites for research and others provide tutorials and how-to guides.
Research Guides generally cover a specific subject or discipline, and can be created for a specific class or assignment. Any of these guides can be embedded in Canvas. Interested in having us create a specific guide for your class? Email Avie Thacker or Amy Jordan.
For a full list of guides see the menu below:
Online databases contain ebooks, audiobooks, scholarly/academic journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, encyclopedias, and streaming access to full-length features movies as well as educational material.
For a full list of databases see the menu below:
A reliable way to have your students access specific library resources in your course (such as articles in databases or eBook in our collection) is to use persistent links. For many databases, you can simply copy and paste the persistent link to provide access.
Databases may use different terminology for their persistent links. You may see the following: Permalink, Bookmark, Direct Link, Get Link, Share, URL, Stable URL, or Permanent URL. Make sure you copy and paste the entire link, and let your students know that they may need to login with their myBRCC credentials to access database resources.
A note about using videos:
Videos will provide a permanent embed code or link that can be used in Canvas.
If you need assistance with this or have any questions, please email Avie Thacker (thackera@brcc.edu) or Amy Jordan (jordana@brcc.edu).
We have limited access to Kanopy resources. If you would like to request a Kanopy purchase, please get in touch with Avie Thacker (thackera@brcc.edu)
We have several databases that specialize in video resources:
Need to see if we provide access to a newspaper, magazine, or journal?
Use the Journal Title Search in the catalog or use the Citation Search for a specific article.
