The library and tutoring are preparing to move into A110 and A107 for the duration of the HVAC renovation work on campus.
How will students get help?! Students can always stop by A110 for assistance. In-person reference services will be available, and we are a phone call (540-453-2247) or email (library@brcc.edu) away. We also have several digital reference services. Students can use the 24/7 Ask a Librarian Chat Service for support: https://brcc.vccs.libguides.com/ask or text us at 1-540-592-4324 (Available Mon.-Fri. 8am-4:45pm).
What about the books!? Please be aware that access to the print collection will be very limited. If you have any assignments that require students to use print sources, please keep this in mind. Requests for print materials can be made through the catalog which can be accessed through the library website: https://www.brcc.edu/library/
Will librarians still come to my class? We will continue to do instruction, both on Zoom and face-to-face. Please use the instruction form to request in-person or virtual sessions. Link here: https://brcc.vccs.libguides.com/faculty/literacy
Escape to the shore with this irresistible collection of beach reads, perfect for lazy days under the sun. From heartwarming romances and breezy comedies to light mysteries and uplifting journeys, these stories are tailor-made for relaxation. Grab your sunglasses, settle into your favorite beach chair, and let these stories carry you away on a wave of feel-good fiction.
LOOKING FOR YOUR NEXT SUMMER READ, BUT DON'T HAVE TIME TO SEARCH THE STACKS?
USE THE CATALOG TO PLACE A HOLD!
1. Go to brcc.edu/library and click on the "Library Catalog"
2. Search for the book you want and click on the title link
3. Sign in using your BRCC credentials and fill out the request form
4. We will send you an email when the book is ready to be picked up in Houff
A CHANCE TO BRAG:
This semester librarians answered over 1500 questions, in-person and through our virtual reference services.
Students used our technology resources at least 1766 times
We loaned over 1000 items, including books, laptops, and other equipment
And we facilitated over 17 instruction sessions, reaching 249 students
Click the image for more info
MAY DIGITAL BOOK DISPLAY:
Escape to the shore with this irresistible collection of beach reads, perfect for lazy days under the sun. From heartwarming romances and breezy comedies to light mysteries and uplifting journeys, these stories are tailor-made for relaxation. Grab your sunglasses, settle into your favorite beach chair, and let these stories carry you away on a wave of feel-good fiction.
Egypt, 1936: When anthropology student Charlotte Cross is offered a coveted spot on an archaeological dig in Egypt's Valley of the Kings, she leaps at the opportunity. But after an unbearable tragedy strikes, Charlotte knows her future will never be the same. New York City, 1978: Eighteen-year-old Annie Jenkins is thrilled when she lands an opportunity to work for iconic former Vogue fashion editor Diana Vreeland, who's in the midst of organizing the famous Met Gala, hosted at the museum and known across the city as the "party of the year." Though Annie soon realizes she'll have her work cut out for her, scrambling to meet Diana's capricious demands and exacting standards. Meanwhile, Charlotte, now leading a quiet life as the associate curator of the Met's celebrated Department of Egyptian Art, wants little to do with the upcoming gala. She's consumed with her research on Hathorkare-a rare female pharaoh dismissed by most other Egyptologists as unimportant. That is, until the night of the gala. When one of the Egyptian art collection's most valuable artifacts goes missing…and there are signs Hathorkare's legendary curse might be reawakening. As Annie and Charlotte team up to search for the missing antiquity, a desperate hunch leads the unlikely duo to one place Charlotte swore she'd never return: Egypt. But if they're to have any hope of finding the artifact, Charlotte will need to confront the demons of her past--which may mean leading them both directly into danger.
The library’s latest book display brings together an exciting collection of fiction books and graphic novels that have been adapted into movies and television shows. This vibrant display highlights the transformation of literary works into visual storytelling, offering readers the chance to dive into the original books before or after watching their on-screen adaptations. From classic novels like The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, which has inspired a beloved film trilogy, to recent bestsellers like Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus, now a successful TV series, the selection spans a wide range of genres and formats, demonstrating how literature can evolve into dynamic multimedia experiences.
In addition to novels, the display also showcases popular graphic novels that have found new life on screen. Titles like Daredevil: Born Again by Frank Miller and Klaus Janson, which was recently adapted for the new hit Disney+ series, and Ghost World by Daniel Clowes, the inspiration for the 2001 black comedy film, exemplify the exciting intersection of comic book artistry and cinematic innovation. Whether you're revisiting a favorite story or discovering one for the first time, the display offers a fascinating look at the power of adaptation.
The library’s latest book display brings together an exciting collection of fiction books and graphic novels that have been adapted into movies and television shows. This vibrant display highlights the transformation of literary works into visual storytelling, offering readers the chance to dive into the original books before or after watching their on-screen adaptations. From classic novels like The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, which has inspired a beloved film trilogy, to recent bestsellers like Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus, now a successful TV series, the selection spans a wide range of genres and formats, demonstrating how literature can evolve into dynamic multimedia experiences.
In addition to novels, the display also showcases popular graphic novels that have found new life on screen. Titles like Daredevil: Born Again by Frank Miller and Klaus Janson, which was recently adapted for the new hit Disney+ series, and Ghost World by Daniel Clowes, the inspiration for the 2001 black comedy film, exemplify the exciting intersection of comic book artistry and cinematic innovation. Whether you're revisiting a favorite story or discovering one for the first time, the display offers a fascinating look at the power of adaptation.
Discover a diverse collection of gardening books, offering expert advice on plant care, landscape design, organic gardening, and sustainable practices. Perfect for beginners and seasoned gardeners looking to grow and thrive. You can perform search in the catalog for "gardening", use the link below, or scan the QR code to see the books that you can check out today! https://tinyurl.com/2dzlk9kn
BOOK OF THE MONTH: Witchcraft for Wayward Girls
They call them wayward girls. Loose girls. Girls who grew up too fast. And they're sent to the Wellwood Home in St. Augustine, Florida, where unwed mothers are hidden by their families to have their babies in secret, give them up for adoption, and most important of all, to forget any of it ever happened. Fifteen-year-old Fern arrives at the home in the sweltering summer of 1970, pregnant, terrified and alone. Under the watchful eye of the stern Miss Wellwood, she meets a dozen other girls in the same predicament. There's Rose, a hippie who insists she's going to find a way to keep her baby and escape to a commune. And Zinnia, a budding musician who knows she's going to go home and marry her baby's father. And Holly, a wisp of a girl, barely fourteen, mute and pregnant by no-one-knows-who. Everything the girls eat, every moment of their waking day, and everything they're allowed to talk about is strictly controlled by adults who claim they know what's best for them. Then Fern meets a librarian who gives her an occult book about witchcraft, and power is in the hands of the girls for the first time in their lives. But power can destroy as easily as it creates, and it's never given freely. There's always a price to be paid-and it's usually paid in blood.
Phone running low on battery? We have chargers that you can check out to keep your phone powered throughout the day. Please bring a picture ID to check out library materials. For more information on all the things you have access to through the library, check out our resources and services page: https://brcc.vccs.libguides.com/library_resources/resources-services
A video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Click here for more info: https://brcc.vccs.libguides.com/DigitalTheatre
Celebrating Women’s History Month: A Tribute to Her Story
March is Women’s History Month, a time to recognize and honor the incredible achievements and contributions of women throughout history. It is a moment to reflect on the trailblazers, innovators, and activists who have shaped the world we live in today. This month, we invite you to explore a special collection of books that spotlight the lives, struggles, and triumphs of women from all walks of life. From groundbreaking leaders to unsung heroes, these stories inspire, educate, and empower. Join us in celebrating the strength, resilience, and brilliance of women throughout history with this carefully curated library display.
For Women's History Month, the library's display has an empowering celebration of women’s achievements, struggles, and contributions throughout history. Featuring a rich selection of non-fiction titles, it spans diverse topics from groundbreaking activists and historical figures to modern leaders in politics, science, and the arts. Books highlight the challenges women have faced, from the suffragist movements to gender inequality in the workforce, while also showcasing their resilience, creativity, and leadership. Whether delving into the lives of influential women like Marie Curie or Whitney Houston, or exploring the lesser-known stories of women who have shaped global change, this collection offers a comprehensive narrative of empowerment.
Our Library Technology Guide is your gateway to exploring the wide range of digital resources available through the library. From ebooks and audiobooks, to video streaming and wireless printing, we offer the tools you need to enhance your learning and research. The guide also covers access to online databases on and off-campus, ensuring you can make the most of your research time. Dive in and unlock the full potential of our library’s tech offerings today! Find it here: https://brcc.vccs.libguides.com/librarytech
with our display honoring the rich and diverse contributions of African Americans throughout history. Explore a curated selection of books that highlight the achievements, struggles, and legacies of Black leaders, artists, and innovators. Whether you’re looking to learn more about the Civil Rights Movement, contemporary trail blazers, or read fiction by African American writers, our display offers something for everyone.
Students in Alissa Cruz’s Creative Writing Club are sharing their talents with the BRCC community by contributing their poetry to be displayed in the library. Please stop by to read these expressive works and support our talented student writers. More will be contributed each semester, and we are excited for this collection of student work to grow!
February is Black History Month, a time to honor the incredible contributions of Black individuals to society, culture, and history. This month, we invite you to explore the powerful stories of perseverance, creativity, and change that have shaped our world. From groundbreaking achievements in the arts, science, and civil rights, to the everyday heroes who made history in their communities, these books highlight the richness of Black experiences, past and present.
Join us in reflecting on the history and celebrating the voices that continue to inspire and uplift. Whether you're discovering new authors or revisiting beloved works, we hope this display sparks curiosity, conversation, and a deeper understanding of the ongoing journey toward justice and equality.
Ready to level up? Learning new skills is one of the best ways to refresh your mind, challenge your limits, and unlock a world of possibilities. Whether you're picking up a new language, diving into a creative hobby, improving your health, exploring new places, or even embracing a simpler, more intentional lifestyle, there’s always something exciting to discover. The beauty of learning is that it’s never too late to start, and each small step brings big rewards. In this month's display, we’ll explore a few ways to get started on your next adventure—whatever that may look like for you!
![Black Food: Stories, Art, and Recipes from Across the African Diaspora [A Cookbook]](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/715R5Dsqm3S._SY466_.jpg)
