Library Technology Guide: Digital Resources

Electronic resources are accessible on and off campus 24/7:

• Full-text ebooks through the online catalog
• Audiobooks through use of the Libby App
• Online database access to:
  • ebooks
  • scholarly/academic journal articles
  • magazine articles
  • newspapers 
  • encyclopedias
  • videos
• Online research guides
• Writing and citing guide
• Access databases off campus by clicking the name of the database and logging in with your myBRCC username and password

Even from off-campus, BRCC students, faculty, and staff have access to library resources and support

• Ability to ask a librarian for research help via phone, email and chat.
• Free online access to ebooks, articles, films and more through our online library databases. 
• Online guides to help with using the library, doing research, and writing & citing.

How do I access library databases to find resources while off-campus?

• Go to the list of library databases found on the Houff Library hompage and select one by clicking the name of the database.
• After you click the database that you want to use, you will be prompted to log in.
• Enter your myBRCC username and password.
• If you are unable to login or are having problems accessing a database, please contact myBRCC support

Logging into myBRCC requires multi-factor authentication.
Set up instructions are available here: https://myvccs-support.vccs.edu/multi-factor-authentication

Struggling to get connected to the BRCC WiFi? Check out the page linked here: (link opens in new tab)

The Houff Library staff are here to help you!

Services include:

• In-person reference assistance.

• SMS text reference services: Need help? Text us at 1-540-592-4324
• Research help and answers to library-related questions through our online Ask a Librarian service. Get quick answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs), chat live with a librarian 24/7, submit a question via email or give us a call! 
• Students can also make an appointment with a librarian for a one-on-one research consultation via Zoom. Session are generally scheduled for 30 minutes. You can email us at library@brcc.edu to make an appointment or by using Navigate (accessible through your myBRCC account).
  • Looking for a specific librarian? Check our directory!
  • Check out this video for instructions on how to book an appointment through Navigate.
• If you want an item not owned by our library, we can get it for your through interlibrary loan (ILL). Just fill out the ILL Request form.
• Faculty can learn more about services for instructors at the Faculty Services and Resources guide.
• Our research guides can help you get started with your course work. You can find them under Research Guides on the library homepage, or using this link: https://brcc.vccs.libguides.com/

For more assistance with logging into your myBRCC account contact the technology help desk:
You can submit a ticket in our IT Support Portal, which can be found in MyBRCC as “Submit a Technology Request” Or, check out this article with common questions asked by students.

Technology Help Desk
(540) 453-2400
Room E109

M-F: 8am - 5pm