LibGuides: Using ProQuest Databases: Black Studies, MEDLINE, SciTech, etc.: Black Studies

This database combines primary and secondary sources, including leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies.

The centerpiece of ProQuest Black Studies is ten historical newspapers and over 120 archival collections and 160 full text periodicals that focus on Black Studies. These collections cover the period from the colonial era through to the 21st Century.

Newspapers and Primary Sources

Do you have a class assignment that requires you to find primary source materials discussing a current cultural concept, or controversial issue? You can search for news articles throughout American history to show how important concepts have evolved through time. For example, a search for "racial bias" will pull results for resources throughout the 1900s, well into the 21st century. (see examples below)

- Bias of federal supreme court...The struggles of a race (1913)
- Controlling Child Birth (1923)
- Kennedy Asks Labor Heads To Halt Bias (1961)
- Welfare:: Attitudes based in racial biases (1994)
- VDOT accused of racial bias (2005)
- Police Killings of Blacks: What the Data Says (2015)

You can also look through archival materials--many of which focus on well known historical events and government response. (see examples below)
- Dyer Anti-Lynching Bill (1918)
- Employment discrimination by the U.S. Postal Service and racial bias in Truman cabinet (1949)
- Higgins v. Board of Education segregation case (1974)
- March on Washington and Signed Support, 1963
- Commonwealth v. Kreischer interracial marriage case (1972)

Profiles and Interviews

Need to know about the life of a famous artist, writer, or musician for an art history or English Course? Looking for an interview of the creator talking about their work, or interested in what the public reception of their work was? There are a plethora of archival materials, newspaper articles, and video/image files that highlight and lived experiences of Black creators and cultural figures.

- Profiles of Black artists (1977-81)
- James Baldwin: Speech on Civil Rights (1968)
- Nikki Giovanni: Lecture at ASU (2011)
- Lyndon B. Johnson: Civil Rights Address (1965)
- Malcolm X: "Democracy is Hypocrisy" speech (1960)
- Nelson Mandela: Capetown Speech (1990)
- Pam Mordecai: Her True-True Name, in Literature Alive (2021)

How to use the Black Studies Database?

The following is an overview of the Black Studies database search process. For a fuller description, with images of the searching process, click through the tabs above.

Accessing Black Studies: To find articles using our library databases, go to the library homepage, and use the link for "Articles/Databases." In the database title/keyword box, type in "Black Studies" and click search. Click the Black Studies link to open the database.
Searching Black Studies: Once you are in the database, you can use the search boxes at the top to begin your research. You may begin with a simple search, or use multiple terms and Boolean operators to create a more complex search.
Using Filters/Limiters: You will most likely get a large number of results when you begin your search. There are a variety of limits/filters available that can help you narrow your results. You can access all the available filters by clicking the "All Filters" dropdown.
Accessing the Article: To access the full resource click on the title of the resource. Make sure to check out the details, or abstract (summary) before diving in to see if the resource will work for your research topic. You can also use the suggested sources and indexed terms to the right of the text to build out your results list.
Other Tools in ProQuest: The database includes other tools for further accessibility including: a language translation tool, three options to adjust the size/display of the font, and a "listen" function that can perform an auditory read out of the article.

As a BRCC student, you have online access to millions of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles through the library databases. Some databases provide access to films and ebooks as well.

To begin, go to the full A-Z list of our library databases by clicking Articles/Databases on the library homepage.

Click on the B in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to Black Studies, and click the link to open the database. Alternatively, you can use the search box at the top of the page to search specifically for the Black Studies database.

Begin your search by adding a keyword or phrase to the search box.

You can use the filters above the search box to look for specific types of materials and subject areas. Or, click on "Advanced Search" to begin connecting multiple concepts using Boolean operators (AND /OR/NOT) and add/edit filters.

***Pro-tip, if you are planning on searching for primary resources or archival materials, it is best to the peer-reviewed filter off.

You can manipulate your search results using the filters located at the left of the results page. If you need a specific resource type, use the "Content type" filter to narrow resource options. If you need to narrow your search further, try applying a filter for a specific date range, historical event, or subject.

To access the full resource click on the title of the resource. Make sure to check out the details, or abstract (summary) before diving in to see if the resource will work for your research topic. You can also use the suggested sources and indexed terms to the right of the text to build out your results list.

You can access the full menu of tools at the top of the article page. Use the "Copy URL" button to find the permalink that will bring you back to this specific article. The citation tool is a great place to start your works cited page. However, be sure to check the citation that is generated for the article against our citation handouts, as they are not always 100% accurate.