Skip to Main Content

Using ProQuest Databases: Black Studies, MEDLINE, SciTech, etc.: SciTech

Finding Articles SciTech

The following is an overview of the database search process. For a fuller description, with images of the searching process, click through the tabs above. 

  1. Accessing ProQuest SciTech Collection: To find articles using our library databases, go to the library homepage, and use the link for "Articles/Databases." Click on the P in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to ProQuest SciTech Collection, and click the link to open the database.

  2. Starting Your Research: You can start searching by adding a keyword or concept to the search bar. Activate the "Full Text" filter to ensure you have access to read the entire article.

  3. Filtering Your Results to Fit Your Project: To begin searching for articles to cover your research topic, click into the "Academic Journals" tab below the overview. There are a variety of filters available. "Peer Reviewed" is the most used. You can also narrow your results with a Publication Date filter, or look for specific Subject areas.

  4. Accessing Your Articles Later On: Once you find an article that you want to use, there are several tools available to keep track of the resource. For example, you can use the "Get Link" option to access a permalink to an article, or you can download and print articles at the Houff Library. Copying the URL at the top of the page will not work after your initial search session. 

  5. Citing Your Work: The database can provide a machine generated citation, but oftentimes these contain errors in content and formatting. Please check those citations against our Writing & Citing Guide. 

As a BRCC student, you have online access to millions of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles through the library databases. Some databases provide access to films and ebooks as well.

To begin, go to the full A-Z list of our library databases by clicking Articles/Databases on the library homepage.

Click on the P in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to ProQuest SciTech Collection, and click the link to open the database.

Begin your search in SciTech by adding a keyword or phrase to the search box. 

Or, click on "Advanced Search" to begin connecting multiple concepts using Boolean operators (AND /OR/NOT). You can also begin using filters to look for specific types of materials and subject areas. 

You can manipulate your search results using the filters located at the left of the results page. If you specifically need a journal article, use the "Source types" filter and activate the scholarly journals option. If you need to narrow your search further, try searching for a specific subject using the "Subject" filters. You can also limit your results to a specific date range. 

To access the full text article click on the title of the resource. Make sure to check out the abstract (summary) before diving in to see if the resource will work for your research topic. You can also use the suggested sources and indexed terms to the right of the text to build out your search options. To see the article as published, download it as a PDF.

You can access the full menu of tools at the top of the article page. Use the "Copy URL" button to find the permalink that will bring you back to this specific article. The citation tool is a great place to start your works cited page. However, be sure to check the citation that is generated for the article against our citation handouts, as they are not always 100% accurate.