A library database is a digital collection of resources that is used to search for scholarly information. This can include ebooks, audiobooks, scholarly/academic journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, encyclopedias, and streaming access to full-length features movies as well as educational material. Click here for direct access to our A-Z Database list.
If you are accessing library databases off-campus, you will need to login using your myBRCC username and password. We have a guide to assist with that process.
An academic journal is a scholarly publication containing articles that is published regularly.
Scholarly articles are published in academic journals. Often they have been peer-reviewed, which means they have been analyzed by experts.
Filters, or limiters, are database tools that allow users to refine their search results to better meet their research goals. Most databases have filters for: full-text, peer reviewed sources, publication date, source type, subject terms, language, and many more.
An abstract is the summary of a research article, usually describing the main points of the paper. Many databases will provide an abstract or summary either below the article link, or as the first paragraph within the paper itself. We recommend reading the abstract first to see if a paper discusses your research topic, before diving into the full text.
Peer-Review is a process by which a scholarly work (such as an article) is checked by a group of experts in the same field or subject area to make sure that it meets the necessary standards before it is published. Check with your professor or syllabus to know if your assignment requires peer-reviewed articles. You can filter your databases searches to only include peer reviewed documents.
The Full Text limiter means you can access the entire text of an article or an eBook online through our databases or catalog. You can also limit your database search to full text articles only.
Use the Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to connect your search words in order to narrow or broaden a search online.
Finding Articles: To find articles using our library databases, go to the library homepage, and use the link for "Articles/Databases."
Choosing a Subject Area: This will take you to the A-Z database list. You can look for a title on the full list, or use the filters at the top to narrow down those results. You can filter by Subject, Database Type or Vendor.
Choosing a Database: Access the database you want by clicking on the linked title.
Conducting a Search: Once you are in a database, you can use the search boxes at the top to begin your research. If you need help narrowing down your topic, make use the of the search suggestions populated in the drop-down as you type in your keywords.
Search Results: You will most likely get a large amount of results when you begin your search. There are filters on the left-hand side (under Limit To) that you can use to narrow down your results list.
Using Limiters: There are a variety of limits (filters) available. "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" are the most used. You can also narrow your results with a Publication Date filter, or look for specific Subject areas.
Accessing the Article: To access the article, click on the title. You may have to scroll down to see the full text. The record may also include a PDF version that you can download to your computer. Also, make use of the tools on the righthand side of the screen to save, email, or cite the article.
Accessing Opposing Viewpoints: To find articles using our library databases, go to the library homepage, and use the link for "Articles/Databases." Click on the O in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to Opposing Viewpoints, and click the link to open the database.
Starting Your Research: If you have not yet fully decided on a topic, you can use the "Browse Issues" menu option to look at a full list of the topics included in this database. You can also dive straight into your research by using the search box. If you need help specifying your topic, make use the of the search suggestions populated in the drop-down as you type in your keywords. If you need more background information on a topic, check out the topic overview.
Filtering Your Results to Fit Your Project: To begin searching for articles to cover your research topic, click into the "Academic Journals" tab below the overview. There are a variety of filters available. "Peer Reviewed" is the most used. You can also narrow your results with a Publication Date filter, look for specific Subject areas, or use the Search Within function to look for specific words or phrases.
Accessing Your Articles Later On: Once you find an article that you want to use, there are several tools available to keep track of the resource. For example, you can use the "Get Link" option to access a permalink to an article, or you can download and print articles at the Houff Library. Copying the URL at the top of the page will not work after your initial search session.
Citing Your Work: The database can provide a machine generated citation, but oftentimes these contain errors in content and formatting. Please check those citations against our Writing & Citing Guide.
Other Tools in Opposing Viewpoints: The database includes other tools for further accessibility including: a language translation tool, three options to adjust the size/display of the font, and a "listen" function that can perform an auditory read out of the article.
Currency : How current is the information? Pay attention to when the book or article was published. Information in certain fields can become outdated quickly. All published materials, digital and physical should have a date of publication listed. Our library catalog and most databases offer some sort of date filtering that allows you to look for resources within a certain time period.
Relevance : Is this information relevant for your paper? What is the point/agenda of the article? Is the information appropriate for your scholarly needs? Check for an abstract, or summary. Are there any subject terms or subject keywords provided? Do they match your research topic?
Authority : Who is responsible for the information? What is the author's background? Does the info belong to a larger organization or website? Is the information peer-reviewed? Database articles may provide author affiliations, or list what organizations they are researching for. You can also perform a search on an author to see their credentials. Our databases will also include filters to remove non peer-reviewed resources.
Accuracy : How accurate is the information? Is the information free of grammatical and spelling errors? Did the author include sources for their information? How comprehensive is the information? Scholarly works will always include references. And those references should point to other scholarly works. While non-academic sources may be listed--especially if the author is quoting a cultural figure--the majority of references should lead to other academic works.
Purpose: Why was the information created? Is the information biased in any way? Is it trying to sell you something? Note any advertisements included in your sources. Scholarly resources should never include ads.
Finding and evaluating sources on the web can be challenging. Be mindful of the domain name of the website you are using. Sites that end in .gov, .edu are generally trustworthy. Be critical of websites ending in .com, .net, and even some ending in .org. Be especially critical of sites ending in .com.co, as these are often fake websites.