Skip to Main Content

HMS 260: Substance Abuse Counseling: Science in Context

This guide is meant to serve as a research assistant to students in our HMS 260 course.

Finding Articles in Science in Context

The following is an overview of the database search process. For a fuller description, with images of the searching process, click through the tabs above. 

  1. Accessing Science in Context: To find articles using our library databases, go to the library homepage, and use the link for "Articles/Databases." Click on the S in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to Science in Context, and click the link to open the database.

  2. Starting Your Research: If you have not yet fully decided on a topic, you can use the "Browse Topics" menu option to look at a full list of the topics included in this database. You can also dive straight into your research by using the search box. If you need help specifying your topic, make use the of the search suggestions populated in the drop-down as you type in your keywords. If you need more background information on a topic, check out the topic overview.

  3. Filtering Your Results to Fit Your Project: To begin searching for articles to cover your research topic, click into the "Academic Journals" tab below the overview. There are a variety of filters available. "Peer Reviewed" is the most used. You can also narrow your results with a Publication Date filter, look for specific Subject areas, or use the Search Within function to look for specific words or phrases. 

  4. Accessing Your Articles Later On: Once you find an article that you want to use, there are several tools available to keep track of the resource. For example, you can use the "Get Link" option to access a permalink to an article, or you can download and print articles at the Houff Library. Copying the URL at the top of the page will not work after your initial search session. 

  5. Citing Your Work: The database can provide a machine generated citation, but oftentimes these contain errors in content and formatting. Please check those citations against our Writing & Citing Guide. 

  6. Other Tools in Science in Context: The database includes other tools for further accessibility including: a language translation tool, three options to adjust the size/display of the font, and a "listen" function that can perform an auditory read out of the article. 

As a BRCC student, you have online access to millions of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles through the library databases. Some databases provide access to films and ebooks as well.

To begin, go to the full A-Z list of our library databases by clicking Articles/Databases on the library homepage.

Click on the S in the alphabetical list. Scroll down to Science in Context, and click the link to open the database.

If you have not fully decided on a topic yet, you can use the "Browse Topics" menu option to look at a full list of the topics included in this database. You can also dive straight into your search by using the search box.

One of the great assets of the Science in Context database is that it attempts to assist you with your search. Pay attention to the drop-down suggestions for your research term--especially if it isn't found on the "Browse Issues" page. 

Each topic will include an overview of the concept. This can cover key points, provides definitions for complex jargon or terminology, and includes related subjects, with article suggestions. 

To begin searching for articles to cover your research topic, click into the "Academic Journals" tab below the overview. There are a variety of filters available. "Peer Reviewed" is the most used. Check with your professor to see if they require peer-reviewed materials. 

You can also narrow your results with a Publication Date filter, look for specific Subject areas, or Search Within your results for specific words or phrases.

You can see your active filters at the top of the search results page. To remove any filters, click on the x within the blue box.

Once you find an article that you want to use, there are several tools available to keep track of the resource. For example, you can use the "Get Link" option to access a permalink to an article, or you can download and print articles at the Houff Library. 

Not sure an article is the one you want from just the title? Be sure to check out the article's abstract (in purple) to read a summary of the resource. If it is a great fit for your research, you may want to click on the terms in the "Related Subjects" section (in purple) to see similar resources.

The database can provide a machine generated citation, but oftentimes these contain errors in content and formatting. Please check those citations against our Writing & Citing Guide.

 

The database includes other tools for further accessibility. The menu for those items is right above the article text. Those tools include:

A language translation tool:

Three options to adjust the size/display of the font:

And a "listen" function that can perform an auditory read-out of the article.