LibGuides: HMS 260: Substance Abuse Counseling: Home

Fall Semester 2025 Relocation

The Houff Center (G Building) library space and physical collections are completely inaccessible during the Fall semester due to HVAC renovations.
Library offices are located in room 110 of A Building on the main Weyers Cave campus.
Tutoring is located down the hall in room A107

Please contact the library (library@brcc.edu or 540-453-2247) with any questions. Need help now? Check out the Ask a Librarian feature for 24/7 chat access.

Information Resources and Houff Library

Houff Library provides access to many great information resources - both print and online.

Online Library Databases: Access over 140 online library databases through the Houff Library website.
- Our databases provide online access to full-text ebooks, scholarly/academic journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and more!
- Access databases off campus by clicking the name of the database and logging in with your myBRCC username and password
Print Books and Magazines Through the Library Catalog: Over 30,000 print books and 15+ popular print magazines in our library. Use the library catalog to search for books and other materials.
- Our print book collection is focused on academic materials to support learning and instruction but we also offer a variety of books for leisure reading for adults, young adults, and children
- Our print reference collection provides access to encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, and more. You may want to use our online reference resources as well.
Research Guides: Created by your librarians help you get started with your research and locate sources for your projects and papers.
Writing & Citing Guide: Citation guides and handouts to help you format papers and cite sources.
Ask a Librarian: Need help? Contact a Librarian 24/7 through our online reference service.
Interlibrary Loan: We don't have access to a material that you want? Submit requests for books and articles not available at our library.
Off-Campus Access: Even from off-campus, BRCC students, faculty, and staff have access to library resources and support using your myBRCC username and password.

Need Help?

There are several ways to contact librarians for assistance:

Visit us in A110

Email at: library@brcc.edu

Call Us: (540) 453-2247

Text Us: 1-540-592-4324 (Available Mon.-Fri.: 8am-4:45pm)

Use the Library Directory to connect with a specific librarian

Use EAB Navigate to schedule a 30 minute, one-on-one meeting with one of our librarians

Need help with something after-hours? Visit the Ask a Librarian page at https://brcc.vccs.libguides.com/ask!
Options include a live chat with 24/7 access to a librarian who can help you.