ENG 112 -- Thompson: Citation

Electronic Source

Citation for Works Cited page

Article from an online database

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, issue #, Publication Date, pp. page #s. Database Name, DOI or permalink if given.

Chan, Evans. “Postmodernism and Hong Kong Cinema.” Postmodern Culture, vol. 10, no. 3, May 2000, pp. 69-89. Project Muse, https://doi.org.10.1353/pmc.2000.0021.

Article from an online news source

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication, URL or permalink.

Parker-Pope, Tara. “How to Age Well.” The New York Times, 2 Nov. 2017, www.nytimes.com/guides/well-how-to-age-well.

Chapter for an ebook contained in a database

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Chapter.” Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Author/Editor of Book, Publisher Name, Year of Publication, pp. page #s. Name of Library Database, DOI or permalink.

Toorn, Penny van, and Daniel Justice. “Aboriginal Writing.” The Cambridge Companion to Canadian Literature, edited by Eva-Marie Kröller, Cambridge UP, 2017, pp. 26-58. Cambridge Core, https://doi.org.10.1017/97813166.

Website with editor and no publisher

Last Name, First Name, editor. Title of Website. Date of Publication/Update, URL.

Eaves, Morris, editor. The William Blake Archive. 1996-2014, www.blakearchive.org.

Website with editor and publisher

Title of Website. Edited by First Name Last Name, Publisher, Date of Publication/Update, URL.

Piers Plowman Electronic Archive. Edited by Robert Adams et al., Society for Early English and Norse Electronic Texts, 7 June 2018, www.piers.chass.ncsu.edu/.

Website with author and publisher

Last Name, First Name. Title of Website. Publisher or Sponsoring Organization if different from author, Date of Publication or Last Modified Date if given, URL.

Bauch, Nicholas. Enchanting the Desert: A Pattern Language for the Production of Space. Stanford UP, 2016, www.enchantingdesert.com-home.

Website written and published by an organization, or with no individual author

“Title of the Article or Individual Page.” Title of the website. Name of the Publishers/Name of Organization [omit publisher if it is the same as the title], Date of Publication, URL.

Folgerpedia. Folger Shakespeare Library, 17 July 2018, folgerpedia.folger.edu/Main_Page.

“What Is Diabetes?” Heart.Org. American Heart Association, 3 Dec. 2021, https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/diabetes/about-diabetes.

Webpage/Article on a Website

Beaton, Kate. “The Secret Garden.” Hark! A Vagrant, www.harkavagrant.com/index.php. Accessed 17 Jan. 2017.

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher or Sponsoring Organization if different from author, Date of Publication or Last Modified Date if given, URL. Accessed Day Month Year viewed.

Online video from a sharing site like YouTube

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Video.” Name of Streaming Site, uploaded by First Name Last Name/Name of Organization, Date of Publication, URL.

If the author’s name is the same as the uploader, only cite the author once.

“2016 MLA-Prize-Winning Publications.” YouTube, uploaded by Modern Language Association of America, 18 Jan. 2017, www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKROuhFF9dI.

Statista

Last Name, First Name/Name of Organization. "Title of Document." Statista, Date of Publication, URL.

Frankwatching. "Leading Social Media Platforms Used by Marketers Worldwide as of January 2023." Statista, 20 Jun 2023, https://www-statista-com.ezbrcc.vccs.edu-statistics/259379-social-media-platforms-used-by-marketers-worldwide/.

"Number of Social Media Users Worldwide from 2017 to 2027 (in Billions)." Statista, 15 Jun 2022, https://www-statista-com/ezbrcc.vccs.edu/statistics/278414/number-of-worldwide-social-network-users/.

Electronic Source

Citation for Works Cited page

Article from an online database with a DOI

Omit DOI if none

Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Date). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Title of Journal, vol. #(issue #), page numbers. DOI or permalink

McCauley, S. M., & Christiansen, M. H. (2019). Language learning as language use: A cross-linguistic model of child language development. Psychological Review, 126(1), 1-51. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126

Article from an online database with an article number or eLocator

Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial., & Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial., (Date). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Title of Journal, vol. #(issue #), Article e#. DOI

Burin, D., Kilteni, K., Rabuffeti, M., Slater, M., & Pia, L. (2019). Body ownership increases the interference between observed and executed movements. PLOS ONE, 14(1), Article e0209899. http://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0209899

Article from an online news source

Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Date). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Title of Newspaper. URL

Guarino, B. (2017, December 4). How will humanity react to alien life? Psychologists have some predictions. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/speaking-of-science/wp/2017/12/04/how-will-humanity-react-to-alien-life-psychologists-have-some-predictions/

Authored eBook with a DOI

Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Date). Title of book (edition.) [excluding first ed.]. Publisher. DOI or permalink

Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/000092

eBook with an editor

Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial., & Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial., (Ed. or Eds.). (Date). Title of book: Subtitle if any (edition) [excluding first ed.]. Publisher Name. DOI

Schmid, H.-J. (Ed.). (2017). Entrenchment and the psychology of language learning: How we reorganize and adapt linguistic knowledge. American Psychological Association; De Gruyter Mouton. https://doi.org/10.137/15969-000

Chapter for an ebook contained in a database

Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial., & Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Date). Title of chapter: Subtitle if any. In First Initial. Last Name of editor (Ed.), Title of book: Subtitle if any (edition., pp. #-#). Publisher Name. DOI or permalink

Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.). Principles and practice of forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). CRC Press. https://doi.org/10.1201/b13499

Website with author and publisher

Last Name, First Name. Name of Website. Publisher or Sponsoring Organization if different from author, Date of Publication or Last Modified date if given, URL.

Martin Lillie, C. M. (2016, December 29). Be kind to yourself: How self-compassion can improve resiliency. Mayo Clinic. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/adult-health

Website written and published by an organization or with no author

Author Corporate Name. (Date). Title of the page. Name of the Publishers/Name of Organization [omit publisher if it is the same as the Author]. URL

 World Health Organization. (2018, March). Questions and answers on immunization and vaccine safety. https://www.who.int/features/qa/84/en/

Online Video from a sharing site like YouTube

Last Name, First Initial or Corporate Name [Name of Channel]. (Date). Title of video [Format]. Name of Streaming Site. URL

Fogarty, M. [Grammar Girl]. (2016, September 30). How to diagram sentence (absolute basics) [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=deiEY5Yq1qI

Statista

Name of Organization. (Date of publication). Title of Document/Graph. [Format]. Statista. URL

Social Media Examiner. (2024). Leading social media platforms used by marketers worldwide as of January 2024 [Graph]. Statista. https://www.statista.com/statistics/259379/social-media-platforms-used-by-marketers-worldwide/

Podcast streamed from a website

(If accessed via an app, omit the URL)

Last Name, First Initial, Middle Initial. (Role). (Date of publication). Title of the episode (Episode #) [Format of podcast]. Publisher. In Title of Podcast. Publisher (if different than author/host). URL

Glass, I. (Host). (2011, August 12). Amusement park (No. 443) [Audio podcast episode]. In This American life. WBEZ Chicago. https://www.thisamericanlife.org/443/amusement-park